290 mini hydel power stations completed in KP


The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa government has completed construction of 290 Mini Hydel Power Stations (MHPSs) while 66 more mini-power stations will be completed in June this year.

This was told in a meeting held here to review the overall performance of Energy and Power Department with Chief Minister Mahmood Khan in the chair. The chief minister was given detailed briefing on the performance of the department with special focus on KP Oil & Gas Company Limited (KPOGCL) and Pakhtunkhwa Energy Development Organization (PEDO). Provincial minister for Finance, Taimur Saleem Jhagra, Advisor to Chief Minister on Energy & Power, Himayatullah Khan, Head of Strategic Support Unit, Sahibzada Saeed, Principal Secretary to Chief Minister, Secretary Energy & Power and other relevant high ups attended the meeting.

The meeting was also briefed about the progress so far made on the under completion major power projects including Drar Khuar, Machai, Renola, Jabori, Matiltan, Koto and Lawi etc.

The meeting was told that the completed power stations have been handed over to the local communities to ensure the provision of uninterrupted power to the local population at affordable rates. In the second phase of the initiative, sites have been identified for the construction of 672 similar power stations and work on the same will be started in the next financial year.

Related posts